Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueplate
Nfhs
Team A has batted out of order , with several players before Team B discovers it.
The umpire informs Team B that the line up is now legalized since no appeal was properly made.
B4 is on second base and she is the pitcher, her time at bat is coming up.
Team A, elects to put in a courtesy runner so she can bat again. Is this legal?
Or, the courtesy runner is legal, but you skip her time at bat because of the courtesy runner being on base?
Penalty  Art. 1, 2): #6"states that when several players bat out of order before discovery so that a player's time at bat occurs while she is a runner. Such player remains on base, but she is NOT out as a batter."
|
From 6-1-1 in the book:
Quote:
6. When several players bat out of order before discovery so that a player's time at bat occurs while she is a runner. Such player remains on base, but she is NOT out as a batter.
|
So, No, it is not legal to take the pitcher off second base by replacing her with a substitute or a courtesy runner. You can enter a sub or CR for the pitcher at second, but that person still represents the proper batter who gets skipped.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
|