
Wed Feb 06, 2019, 10:12pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
On page 50 of the latest Referee magazine, there is an article about look back. I don't agree with the author's solution.
I think mine would be to enforce the rule literally, calling time and ruling one of the runners out, the one who stopped first.
That is what I think I would do at the spur of the moment.
But, then as I have often thought and said, it is not a "gotcha" rule. That usually applies to being a tenth of a second ahead of the pitch, losing contact while tying a shoe, etc. That does not seem to apply to the situation in the article.
Please comment.
|
If you know you saw it, you call it. If you have to think about it and feel a need to justify it to yourself, don't call it
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|