View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 10:56am
frezer11 frezer11 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-2 ART. 2 The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court
from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds
or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.
ART. 5 The thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court.
Chet I understand your point, because even with this rule citation, I think one can continue to say, "but he was never fully OOB, so this rule doesn't apply..." or something similar. However, B1 was clearly attempting to make a throw in, and his foot on the line makes him not out-of-bounds, as far as an inbounder is concerned.

You said you ruled it a 5 second violation, correct? What if B2 had traveled before you reached your 5 count? Would you have just not called anything? What if A1 stole the ball from a dribbling B2? Would you have called a T for interference with a player attempting to "In-bound" a ball?
Reply With Quote