View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 09, 2019, 06:24pm
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,671
1972 fair catch kick in NCAA?

I've got someone commenting on YouTube who wants to bet me $10k he made a free kick from a fair catch and scored just before halftime of a game with the Naval Academy in 1972. I know NCAA hasn't had that rule since the 1949 season, but is it possible an official used to Fed rules allowed it in 1972 by mistake? Seems like a big mistake considering it resulted in 3 points. He didn't say it was a varsity game, though, so maybe not top flight referee. Could their lightweight team have played by NFHS?

Maybe he's trying to pull a gotcha by not saying it was a rugby match. In 1972 you could still score that way from the mark of a fair catch in Rugby Union.
Reply With Quote