View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2019, 07:12pm
crosscountry55 crosscountry55 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The situation in the video is a Part 3 situation since the throw-in ended when the defender deflected the pass. Therefore, under an ambiguous 12-year old NFHS POE that has never been codified in the rules play would be resumed using the AP arrow. NCAAM have a different interpretation which awards the ball back to the throwing team.
fify

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Michael Stephens went over to broadcaster Len Elmore before play resumed and explained that he sounded his whistle after the deflection because the clock did not properly start.

We can debate whether he was over-sensitive to the clock in this situation and should have held his whistle while allowing the action on the court to play out and then halted the game at a better stopping point to correct the clock, but he did not have an inadvertent whistle afterall. He deliberately sounded it to make a timing correction at an unfortunate point in the action.
That's nice, but whether IW or not at that point, POI principles apply regardless.

BillyMac, since you're good at submitting rule change suggestions, next spring can you submit this case to be rectified once and for all? I recommend the committee either adopt Art Hyland's interpretation that a TI should fall under the umbrella of "a ball that is being passed among teammates" (that could be done with a "NOTE" in the rules) or that Rule 4-12-3e be added to state that TC "ends when a TI ends if the end of the TI is not simultaneous with the establishment of player control." One solution or the other, please! The current setup of "governance by POE" is unprofessional.
Reply With Quote