Possession Arrow ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
If L (and apparently others) thought it was the first of multiple FTs ...
|
Any chance of miscommunication, or misunderstanding by all the players, I'm going with the possession arrow.
Below is certainly not a completely relevant casebook play, but it's the only one that's close:
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-
one free-throw situation. The administering official steps
in and erroneously informs players that two free throws will
be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed free
throw is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players
motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all
other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or
(c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to
secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this
point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put
one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be ruled dead
immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession
procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound
despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3; 2-
10)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 28, 2018 at 03:29pm.
|