Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
Opposing team's basket? I'm counting to points for the opposing team.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog
Violation. Don't overthink it.
|
Now that we have a difference of opinion, please allow me to overthink it.
Exact wording:
9-2-7: The thrown ball shall not enter the basket before it touches or
is touched by another player.
While there certainly can be a difference between "the basket" and "a basket", I'm not 100% sure that the NFHS meant there to be a difference here.
On the other hand, I'm not 100% sure that the NFHS didn't mean there to be a difference here.
We have to try to figure out the intent of the rule here. What did the NFHS intend?
Lets look at the next article:
9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the
backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is
touched by another player.
Does this mean that a throwin violation would be called at one backboard/ring/flange and that a held ball would be called at the other backboard/ring/flange ?
Again, we have to try to figure out the intent of the rule here. What did the NFHS intend?
Had the NFHS replaced "the" with "their" it would have made the intent much easier to interpret.
For those that lean toward the original post counting, would you allow a offensive or defensive player to grab or swipe the ball on the way down, above the rim, chance to go in, outside of the cylinder?
It's not a try, you would have to ignore the grab or swipe.
(Note to young'uns, regardless of the intent, one would always call basket interference here, at either basket, by either team.)
I'm not ready to throw my dog into this fight, I'd like some other opinions first.
Sometimes the NFHS thinks that we're all mind readers.