Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
Actually, that's not true, plenty of us have heard it and seen him.
As for monitor review, you can only go to see if the shot was released prior to expiration of the shot clock on a made basket. You cannot use the monitor to determine if the ball hit the ring.
11-2-1.b.4 Determine if the ball was released on a try for goal before the sounding of the shot clock horn when the try is successful. The officials must recognize the potential mistake and signal to the scorer that an instant replay review is required prior to the ball next becoming live. When the try is unsuccessful, a review is not permissible.
|
that's what I thought, but I also found this AR:
A.R. 350. In a game with an official courtside monitor, A1 attempts a try with
15 seconds remaining on the shot clock. The try did not contact the ring or
flange and Team A regained control. However, the shot-clock operator reset the
shot clock.
(1) The official blows the whistle and confers with their partners, and they
determine that the ball did not hit the ring and the shot clock was
mistakenly reset. The officials have definite information relative to the
time that was on the shot clock when it was reset. As a result, the officials
decide not to use the courtside monitor.
(2) The official blows the whistle and confers with their partners and they
are unable to determine whether the shot clock was improperly reset.
The referee decides to go to the monitor to determine whether a timing
mistake occurred.
Are the officials required to use the courtside monitor in these situations?
RULING: (1) No. The officials are not required to use the monitor
since they agree that the ball did not hit the ring. Since the officials
have definite information relative to the time that was on the shot
clock before it was mistakenly reset, they shall instruct the shot-clock
operator to place the correct time on the shot clock and play shall be
resumed at the point of interruption.
(2) No. By rule, the officials are not required to use the monitor.
However, since the officials are unable to determine if the shot clock
was improperly reset, they are permitted to use the monitor to make
this determination. When it is determined that the shot clock was
mistakenly reset, they are permitted to put the correct time back
on the shot clock. When it is determined that there has been no
mistake in resetting the shot clock, there shall be no adjustment to
the shot clock. In both cases, play shall be resumed at the point of
interruption.
(Rule 11-2.1.c.2 and 5-12.4)