Thread: Bonus?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 15, 2018, 11:01pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Although not part of the original post, if the throw in was an alternating possession throw in, then the AP arrow would not change. A foul on either team, or a violation by the defense keeps the AP arrow the same.

6-4-5
The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If the defensive team commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is not switched.
Not necessarily. The throw-in ends on any inbounds touch, which would reverse the AP arrow, but the rule for team control fouls on plays resuming with a throw-in covers all action until player control is gained inbounds. Therefore, if the throw-in pass was touched or tipped, but not controlled and then the throwing team fouled, you would have a situation in which the arrow switches and a team control foul was committed.
Reply With Quote