Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
2018-19 IAABO Refresher Exam Question #26: A-1 is awarded one free throw. After the successful free throw the lead official recognizes that one player from each team is occupying the first marked lane space. After a brief discussion the officials rule this a double free throw violation and cancel the free throw. Are the officials correct? Answer Key: No
Again, I'm pissed because I got this wrong. I answered "Yes".
Team A violated for being in the first marked lane space. Team B violated because it wasn't in the first marked lane space. Double violation, no point can be scored.
8-1-4-C: The first marked lane spaces on each side of the lane, above and adjacent to the neutral-zone marks, shall be occupied by opponents of the free thrower. No teammate of the free thrower shall occupy either of these marked lane spaces.
9-1-Penalty 3: If there is a simultaneous violation by each team, the ball becomes dead and no point can be scored.
Could the correct answer be "No" because the violation wasn't noticed in a timely manner?
9-1-4: The restrictions apply ... until the free throw ends.
|
Billy:
I agree with you. That is three questions you need to ask Roger about.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|