View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2018, 07:56pm
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redseal View Post
During a scrimmage kick, can the punter or kicker move forward before the snap to start their kicking motion?

example: The punter is lined up 14 yards behind the deep snapper. Everyone is set. Before the ball is snapped, the punter takes a step or two toward the snapper. He does not reset and the ball is snapped.

Is this legal using NFHS rules?
No, nor in any other major American code, but...are you sure you saw that the ball was stationary while he was moving? A ball can take a while to travel 14 yards, and he could easily take 2 steps before it gets there if he starts simultaneously with the snap.
Reply With Quote