View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 10, 2018, 12:54pm
Middleman Middleman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by airraider View Post
Team A had a bad snap and penalty during their possession that has left them with a 3rd and 35 situation.

Team A decides to quick kick on 3rd down to attempt to catch team B off guard.

Upon punting, the ball is kicked short and does not make it back to the original LOS, but a member of Team B tried to field it and muffs the catch and a member of Team A team recovers.

Which is the correct ruling?

Team A's ball at the spot of the recovery 4th down.

Team A's ball at the spot of the recovery 1st down.
No change of possession, not touched by R beyond the neutral zone ...

4th down at the spot of recovery.

On second thought, my answer may be different depending on what you mean by "original LOS?" Did you mean the line of scrimmage established on 1st down?

Last edited by Middleman; Wed Oct 10, 2018 at 03:19pm. Reason: Additional thoughts
Reply With Quote