View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2018, 02:47pm
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaincoach View Post
ISA rules. Two outs. Ball hit to infield. Easy out at 1st. 1st baseman got excited and pulled her foot off the base early. Not completely obvious, but she did pull her foot. Field umpire (who was in position right behind the bag at 1st) called the runner out. Defense celebrated and rushed off the field (with me encouraging them because I saw her pull her foot, lol). Offensive coach walked on the field and complained. FU appealed to the PU who overturned the call and advanced the runners one base each and put the defense back on the field. I don’t disagree with the call, but just wanted to confirm it was handled properly for my own education.
If applying "umpire jeopardy", and the one base each was the judgment of where they would have reached w/o the wrong call; ok.

For umpires, " the FU discussed/ questioned the PU about the call and the FU changed the call"
Better than saying "appeal" and one umpire can not "overturn" another's call.
(Except on Little League replays , maybe others).


I didn't know the "International Society of Arboriculture" had a softball division.
Just kidding MC, but what is ISA?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote