View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 08, 2018, 03:47pm
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,362
question #2

In softball, if a runner is called for INT, the ball is dead and the runners returned to the last base touched.

In last night's LL Southwest Regional, a BR who bunted was out for INT because of not being in the running lane. There had been runners on 1st and 2nd, both had reached the next base at the time of the INT.
However, after a meeting of 4 umpires and the plate umpire talking to someone by phone; the runners were returned to their prior bases.

Is baseball different in this way, or did I misunderstand the ruling, or were they wrong?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote