so for NFHS, i found this
"A force-out is a putout during which a runner who is being forced to advance
is tagged out, or is put out by a fielder who holds the ball while touching the base toward which the forced runner is advancing"
Now you stated that the BR running to first is *NOT* considered a force out, but all other rules discuss the "tag" of the player while not on the base. So if NFHS wants to apply this rule to 1st, then it doesnt go further into "controlling the ball" like the OBR reference does.
So from OBR, he would be safe, but NFHS doesnt go into that detail and i only found the above reference.
So my game (being NFHS) i *believe* he would be out, and OBR he would be safe.
|