View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2018, 11:01pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
I don't think anything is unclear. Obviously some people do or the OP would have never been posted.

If I had to guess, I would say it's trying to reconcile the fact that one rule says the runner and batter are both out and another rule says there cannot be a fourth out (with the exception).

Hell, after re-reading the thread...you are the one that pointed it out.
From what I understand, the discussion occurred among a group of umpires who worked both NFHS & USA. Some had a difficult time separating the two and insisted you couldn't get two outs. What is sad is that this is not a new rule and there were umpires who did not know this. Once the rule was read along with the associated RS, everyone was hopefully on the same page.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote