View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2018, 04:14pm
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I think we answered this last year or before; but I can't find it.
USA Rules only, NFHS is very different; probably others.

If a runner interferes with a fielder attempting a fair or foul fly ball which is catchable with ordinary effort; the runner is out and the batter is also out.
8.7.J.3 (1) effect F in the wrong place

--------------------------------
Even if there were two outs before the play, the batter has completed a time at bat, so does not bat in the next inning.

Is that correct, or does that batter appear again?

-----------------------------------

Opinions are no help, already have both sides from very learned sources; need a case or play/clarification documented.
My thinking is that the batter was put out by the interference, by rule, and so has completed the at bat.

Otherwise, saying batting again ignores the out, but both outs occur simultaneously; so ignoring he batterís out would ignore the runnerís out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote