View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2018, 09:15am
Altor Altor is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Allows 4th out appeals, but ONLY against a runner who has scored a run.
Yes, I understood that. But, my question was about the rule that "does not allow a fourth out unless it is an appeal on a runner who has scored."

Sometimes, when you have rules-lawyers reading rule books and trying to apply a loophole or gotcha to the rule as written instead of the obvious spirit and intent, you have to turn that against them. If the rule specifies that appeals for fourth outs are not allowed (with the exception), then you can make the argument that this is not an appeal. The batter is out by rule and you simply have a fourth out that inning.

IRISHMAFIA says this is not the case and the rule apparently forbids all fourth outs (with the exception).
Reply With Quote