Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Isn't he nearest official giving the "tip" signal to indicate that the defender deflected the ball? This is a relatively new (I still haven't gotten used to using it) official IAABO signal, and I don't know it it's an official NCAA signal.
The first time I through the video, I (like JRutledge) also believed that the defender didn't touch the ball. The second time through I noted that "tip" signal by the nearest official and figured that the had a better look than me.
|
My comment was not about the tip signal. My comment was about the play. It did not look like the defender touched the ball in the video. I have seen officials default to a signal and there was no touch that took place. I am just saying that if the dribbler had a bad dribble and knocked the ball in the BC on his own, then it is a violation under NCAA Rules and the current NF Rule.
Peace