View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 03:07pm
Spence Spence is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
It shouldn't be an automatic strike. Oftentimes, the rule books, especially on the high school level, are badly written, and result in nonsense like calling a strike on a batter who has not left the box. If just C happens, I am calling the pitch based on where it is. Since the batter has not left the box, he should still be able to face the pitch, IMO.
Wholeheartedly agree with your thinking. I'm wondering if NFHS has clarified what option C means as far as how we enforce this. If they don't mean to issue an automatic strike with JUST a raised hand then I'm not sure why they even included it since one or both feet out of the box would be enough.
Reply With Quote