View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 02:39pm
Spence Spence is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
It's just a pitch. A regular pitch. The batter could recover and hit it. Call it what it is.

1. If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request “Time,” it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “Time” and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of
7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Thus, Two strikes are called on the batter in (b).

How am I supposed to read the last part of the rule regarding (c) holds up the hand...? Why list that without having it be conditional upon A or B also occurring?
Reply With Quote