
Sat May 19, 2018, 01:07pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2017-18
SITUATION 7: A1, in the team’s frontcourt, passes towards A2, also in the team’s frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A’s backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A’s frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A’s backcourt, but never having touched it in Team A’s backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1, 4-4-3, 9-9-1)
New 9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. EXCEPTION: Any player located in the backcourt may recover a ball deflected from the frontcourt by the defense.
|
I am still just slightly confused. Does this new "exception" now make that case (situation 7) legal? When the exception indicates "from the frontcourt" I expect it to imply a "to" location, such as the backcourt. In the case however, the ball never had backcourt status. Should not the exception read perhaps as "..deflected in the frontcourt.."? (Notice the use of word "in" instead of "from".
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|