View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2018, 02:45pm
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
I started a similar thread entitled "Miss St @ Ole Miss (Video)" back in March 2015.

I think NCAA (which I don't work) is the same as NFHS where the runner is supposed to touch first base after receiving a base on balls.

I found this case play from ASA from 2009:

With one out, bases loaded and the score tied in the bottom of the seventh, B5 walks on four pitches bringing in the winning run. B5 joins in the celebration and is reminded to go to 1B by a coach. The defense appeals (a) that B5 was out of the base path, (b) that B5 was aided by a coach while the ball was in play, and (c) that B5 did not go directly to 1B. The umpires rule all runners safe once the batter-runner reaches 1B.

In (a), there is no penalty for leaving the base path since B5 was not avoiding a tag. In (b) verbal instructions are not considered aiding the runner. In (c) B5 did not enter the dugout or leave the field of play, so there is no penalty. In all cases, the run counts and the game is over. (8-1C)


This would seem to imply that NCAA, USA, and NFHS all have the same ruling. But I seem to recall from somewhere that one of these was different. In the sense that since the batter was awarded a base that forced all other runners to advance, that as long as the runner from third touched home plate, nothing else mattered.

Maybe I just heard (and remembered) a bad interpretation?
Here is an NCAA Case Play that is not directly the same, but offers an interesting ruling:

Quote:
A.R. 12-26. With a runner on third base and one out, the batter receives ball four. The offensive team is located on the first base sideline and as the batter is walking to first base, she stops to have a conversation with the on-deck/upcoming batter. After a five or six second conversation, they "high five" and both players take their respective positions. The defensive coach believes the batter-runner is guilty of abandoning her base running responsibilities and should be called out.
RULING: Because the ball is live and the batter-runner is obligated to advance on the base on balls, there should be common sense application as to the type and length of delay that occurs before the umpire intervenes and directs the batter-runner to immediately advance to the base or be declared out. Batters who do not disrupt play, but quickly remove elbow padding or even hand their bat to the on-deck batter before proceeding to first base should not be called out. However, if after being directed to advance, the batter-runner refuses to advance, delays advancing, or ignores the direction, she should be declared out for abandoning an effort to run the bases.
(Rule 12.11)
So, the NCAA tells umpires that when a BR walks but doesn't immediately advance to first base, we should direct the BR to go to first or be declared out. I guess that would apply in a game-ending walk as well, huh?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote