View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2018, 06:26pm
Tru_in_Blu Tru_in_Blu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
USA test question #34

Runners on 2nd and 1st. B3 hits line drive to F4, who is unable to make the catch and the carom strikes R2 while still in the air. Then, still in the air, it is caught by F3. Live ball, no catch.

If the carom off R2 was caught in place by F4, would you rule “step and reach”?
Once it hits anything other than another defensive player (fence, runner, umpire, dirt), it is no longer "catch-able".

Def. of catch, B.2
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote