View Single Post
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2018, 12:06pm
jmkupka jmkupka is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
This is ambiguous. No make the out call or not make the protect call ?
I believe this forum covers high-level rules interpretations… I can honestly say that I don’t know of a single umpire, USA, NCAA, pony, that 1. knows this exception (being on the base and a subsequent play on another runner) and 2. would enforce it once they did learn of it.
I’ve had discussions with colleagues about this exact exception, and have been told in no uncertain terms “there is no way I would reinstate the obstruction protection once she stops at 1b and then takes off again. No way.”
I feel as though I am the only umpire , besides everyone on this forum, that knows this rule.

Last edited by jmkupka; Fri Apr 06, 2018 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote