View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2018, 08:07am
jmkupka jmkupka is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 633
Cannot believe I missed this exception in the rulebook. Likely renders much of this discussion moot.

NCAA 9.5.7 An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where she was obstructed unless one of the following occurs.

(all the other previously discussed exceptions are listed, then)

9.5.7.8 The umpire determines the runner is clearly beaten by the throw.

Can someone please tell me how I'd reconcile this exception to an OC? A runner who is obstructed rounding the base could very likely be put out by a mile at the next bag. How can the rule itself even exist with this exception in place?

Please tell me I'm missing something blatantly apparent here...

Last edited by jmkupka; Fri Apr 06, 2018 at 08:11am.
Reply With Quote