View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 31, 2018, 11:46am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Correct for NCAA both rule sets. Not for NFHS.

The NCAA rule used to be the same as NFHS, until there was such a held ball to begin a men’s title game about 15 years ago. The very next season the rule was changed to allow any two players to re-jump. Coincidence? I think not. Not sure when the NCAAW rule changed, but would imagine it was around the same time.
Here is the actual ruling on the Men's side.

A.R. 140. An official tosses the ball for the opening jump ball. Immediately after the ball is touched by the jumpers, A2 and B2 tie up the ball.

RULING: Since possession has never been established, the official
cannot use the alternating-possession arrow to award possession. An official shall conduct another jump ball. Any two opposing players shall jump.
(Rule 6-3.5)

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote