View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 06, 2003, 03:18am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally posted by CLAY
I am calling a JV boys basketball game. Score is tied with less than 40 sec's left. A1 has the ball and is getting no pressure bringing up the ball in the back court. A1 who has stopped next to the coach for instruction, but contuines his dribble, A1 is patted on the rear by the coach who is standing out of bounds. I call out of bounds on A1. Was this the correct call.
Uh, Clay, I know you are trying to make a point in a rather silly way, but you are a day late and a dollar short on this one. Look at my earlier post from the first page of this thread where Tony and I already dealt with this issue.
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
If a coach stuck his hand out and touched a player who was otherwise obviously inbounds, would you call him OOB?
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
For the coach senario, if the player touches the coach it is OOB, if the coach touches the player and is not trying to catch him or stop him from being hurt, I think it has to be a technical foul.
Now while it was understood from our conversation that the player and coach were on opposite teams, it doesn't make any difference as far the rule is concerned. The rule says, "A player is out of bounds when he/she touches...", not a player is touched by, so it is certainly not OOB. Only penalize the player for their actions, not someone else's which he/she cannot control. If you wanted to be a real harda$$, it would be a T on the coach, but I agree with JR here, and I would not call it on people on the same team. Opposing member, however, I call a T, and a fan I eject.
Reply With Quote