View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 10, 2018, 12:04am
RKBUmp RKBUmp is online now
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,317
The lookback rule says nothing about a runner must attempt to advance in order to be awarded a base. It is the umpires judgement as to where the runner would have reached and at the end of playing action, or when the obstructed runner is put out before reaching the base they would have the umpire is to award the runner the base or bases they would have reached absent the obstruction.

As for cancelling obstruction, per the rule, obstruction is not cancelled until the runner reaches the base the umpire judges they would have absent the obstruction, AND there is a subsequent play on a different runner.
Reply With Quote