View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 05, 2003, 12:41pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: FOLLOW UP QUESTION

Quote:
Originally posted by CLAY
I am calling a JV boys basketball game. Score is tied with less than 40 sec's left. A1 has the ball and is getting no pressure bringing up the ball in the back court. A1 who has stopped next to the coach for instruction, but contuines his dribble, A1 is patted on the rear by the coach who is standing out of bounds. I call out of bounds on A1. Was this the correct call.
Nope,you should have T'd the coach for entering the court without permission(R10-4-2)!

Clay,ask yourself this: Did the coach gain any advantage by patting his player on the butt? Was the other team placed at any kind of disadvantage by the coach's act? Could you call the coach's action an unsportsmanlike act? Was the coach seat-belted or flagrantly out of his coach's box when he gave his player the pat? I think that you might have a hard time answering "yes" to any of those questions! If you can't answer "yes",why make a call on something that had absolutely no affect on the game?

This is what we were talking about before about the "spirit and intent" of a rule. You might be able to stretch the language to fit a situation, but is that really what the rulesmakers intended when they wrote the rule? In this case, IMO the most that you might do is maybe mention to the coach,when you get a chance,that it might be a good idea not to touch anyone on the court. You might even take the time and explain why. As for actually calling anything-OOB,T,etc.- I really don't think that a call should be made.
Reply With Quote