View Single Post
  #70 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2018, 05:41pm
jTheUmp jTheUmp is offline
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
None of those sports award a score.
Not true.

Baseball and softball umpires can award more than one base, if it's deemed appropriate given the situation when the obstruction occurs, up to and including home plate. It happened in the World Series a few years back: runner on 3rd was obstructed by the third baseman after an errant throw to 3rd.

In football, there's the "unfair act" provision (FED and NCAA, at least, not sure about NFL) that allows the Referee to award a score... it's almost never used, but it's there. About the only scenario where I think it would be appropriate to do so is if a non-player comes off the sideline and tackles a ballcarrier who has a clear path to the end zone and no opponent with any possibility of making a tackle.
Reply With Quote