View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2018, 01:32pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,230
Originally Posted by wyo96 View Post
Not to be argumentative, but does the casebook give us that authority? I read it that even if it is without a doubt a pass from behind the arc that is deflected by the defense, we must award 3 points. "A1 throws the ball"

I believe your reasoning is a better rule, just not sure that it what it says. Am I missing something?
Yes, it does.

4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1ís three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)
While not the same, this case makes it clear that when the ball ceased to have a chance to go in, it no longer is to be counted as 3 points when it is deflected such that it goes in.
Owner/Developer of
Reply With Quote