View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 24, 2018, 06:38am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,930
General Safety Precaution, Or A Specific Rule ???

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
... nothing prohibits A2, A3, A4, and A5 from standing in front of Team A's Bench and drink water while A1 is attempting his FTs.
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Water is not allowed on the court during play. This includes FT attempts. If these kids need water, then they need to be substituted and drink while on the bench. Water is only permitted to be given to players during time-outs.
Agree in practice with Nevadaref, for general safety reasons.

But to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.'s point, occasionally we see a water bottle handed to a player, not a cup of water. Is there a specific rule, casebook, or annual interpretation, against this, or is this just a general safety rule?

The only citation that I can come up with is if the water is spilled on the floor, generating a delay of game warning, or if already warned, a delay of game technical foul.
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 24, 2018 at 06:42am.
Reply With Quote