Thread: Retouching
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 23, 2018, 05:08pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by starman View Post
I would like to ask for input on the following situations........

0 or 1 Outs, R1 is running on the pitch and halfway to third base when a fly ball is caught by the SS. The SS:
a) steps on 2B and indicates to the umpire that the runner needs to retouch his way back to 1B.
b) accidently steps on 2B before throwing the ball into the stands when attempting to throw the ball back to first base.
Neither of these is a proper appeal (I assume that's what you are asking about -- and not the award in (b)). The base left too soon (or the missed base or the runner) must be tagged -- you can't just tag an interim base that the runner must touch.
Reply With Quote