Quote:
Originally posted by c it first
NFHS - R1 signals for fair catch . Scrimmage kick is very high and K1 does a good job getting down the field to cover. R does not make a clean catch and is immediately hit by K1. The ball is recovered by K2. It can't be a fumble because it was not possesed by R1. It's hard to say R1 muffed it because the contact by K1 was immediate. I read (6-5-6). Can K1 cause the muff? Does K need to allow R any amount of time to gain possession?
|
### an unsuccessful attempt to secure possession of a ball is a muff. In this play, that should be immaterial as the team-R receiver most certianly did not have an unimpeded oportunity to catch the ball and secondly, the receiver had signalled for a fair catch. He should not have been contacted at all.. This is KCI.
You ask if K can cause a muff? Sure, he could be distracting the receiver by standing too close, yelling at him or waving his hands in front of him. Again, remember the definition of a muff.. and unsuccessful attempt to secure possession.
You can't rule a fumble on a Fair Catch as the ball is dead as soon as it is caught. So there cannot be a fumble, but there can be a foul on K.