Thread: Who gets the T?
View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 03, 2003, 04:24pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
First, the player is not technically disqualified once he's notified. Only the notification to the coach makes the DQ official. If you've told the player but not the coach, he's not DQ's.

[/B]
So,with the new rule,in the case above(or any case,for that matter),a player who re-enters the game and plays after being notified that he's disqualified is not penalized in any way if he is then caught? And his coach would not be penalized either if an official didn't notify him when that player's 5th foul occurred? [/B][/QUOTE]

Even with the old rule, neither the player nor the coach recieved any penalty unless the coach had been previously notified. Until the coach is notified, a player is not disqualified. (4-14-2)

It is not the coaches job nor is it required of them to keep count of the individual player's fouls...even though many of them do. Since we don't require them to know the foul count, we can't penalize them for not knowing it (or even pretending to not know it). They is why we must inform them of every disqualification.

Of course, once they were notified both the player and coach received a technical foul (indirect for the coach). I any case where this happens, it it probably the coach putting the player back in the game. The player is just doing what the coach instructed. It seems equitable that the coach receive the penalty more strongly and to let the player off without penalty...they're already out anyway.
Reply With Quote