View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2018, 08:29pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by griblets View Post
Thanks for the video, JRut!

So, it appears that 3-points were awarded to Duke, and they were awarded the throw-in for the foul while the ball was in the air, which must mean that it was ruled a try.

However, was it a try for goal? Obviously, it was a pass. Wouldn't only two points be awarded if it's not a try? And, in this specific case, if not a try, wouldn't the ball become dead when the foul occurs, which was before the ball passed through the basket, resulting in no points and Duke's throw-in?

I feel there has been a thread on a hypothetical situation just like this in the past.
The rule is that a ball thrown from behind the arc that goes in is to be counted as 3 points. The rule does not say that it is automatically a try if it goes in, just that it will get 3 points.

If there is a defensive foul, the ball is dead immediately unless a try is in progress.

Several have debated this in the past and there isn't a consensus.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote