Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
[/B]
|
I think the player is no longer charged with the flagrant T (what's the point of that? he's DQ'd anywhay) -- the comments on the NFHS site indicate the section has been "moved":
This change merely removes the provision from Rule 10-3-2 as a player technical and places it under the head coachÂ’s responsibility in 10-5-3. The penalty still results in two free throws and the ball to the offended team, but now assesses a direct technical foul to the head coach (rather than an indirect). A head coach should be aware of the fact that a player has been disqualified because he/she has been notified by an official.
[/B][/QUOTE]Interesting. I thought that the idea of charging the flagrant T to the player was for the fact that he committed a flagrant unsportsmanlike act by deliberately participating after being disqualified(and being notified that he had been disqualified). I also thought that that was the basis for enacting the rule in the first place.This could make a significant difference in States that suspend players who receive flagrant fouls,if they no longer get one for this particular act. A player could try to pull this one now,and,even if caught,get off without any punishment at all.