Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef
For this to be a legal play, the player may alight off ONE foot and land on TWO, correct? If you jump up off of two feet and land on two feet, this is a travel. I believe that this is what the referee saw and called. YES, the jump stop was perfectly legal. BUT, if the player had BOTH feet on the ground and they BOTH left simultaneously, then, landed again simultaneously, is that not grounds for calling a travel, by rule?
|
I look to see when the player "ends the dribble." I personally dont use the term "gather" because it makes people think the ball has to be caught (two hands) before you look at foot position.
I really cant tell from this view on the video when the player "ended the Dribble." It happens quick so I'd likely pass on it. As I've said before, it doesnt do the game any good to be the only guy on the floor calling travel. My partners arent going to analyze it/split hairs on it. You are right, if the dribble has ended with 2 feet on the floor..player cannot jump off those and land with ball. If ended with one on floor he can jump off it and land simultaneously, no pivot.
When he ends the dribble is key.