Thread: Who gets the T?
View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 03, 2003, 08:26am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
The NFHS changed the penalty for the coach this year on a player participating after being disqualified from an indirect to a direct T. How does this fit with the above discussion?
Since the player is also charged with a flagrant T, does this mean that the team gets two team fouls charged and we shoot four shots? I doubt it.
The NFHS has some clean up to do on this rule change.
I think the player is no longer charged with the flagrant T (what's the point of that? he's DQ'd anywhay) -- the comments on the NFHS site indicate the section has been "moved":

HEAD COACH DIRECTLY PENALIZED WHEN PLAYER PARTICIPATES AFTER BEING DISQUALIFIED (10-5-3): A new article was added indicating that the head coach shall not permit a player to participate after being disqualified. This change merely removes the provision from Rule 10-3-2 as a player technical and places it under the head coachÂ’s responsibility in 10-5-3. The penalty still results in two free throws and the ball to the offended team, but now assesses a direct technical foul to the head coach (rather than an indirect). A head coach should be aware of the fact that a player has been disqualified because he/she has been notified by an official. Therefore, the penalty should be charged directly to the head coach. This change means that if a coach receives (or has received) another direct technical foul or two indirect technical fouls, he/she would be ejected. In states that utilize the coaching box, the privilege would still be lost, as was the case last year when an indirect technical was assessed.

Reply With Quote