Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
That is news to me. Citation?
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official
You do if it’s after a timeout or intermission (NFHS).
|
First off, I did look, and don't deny that I'm incorrect. Rules clearly state that you do use ROP after a timeout or intermission. Now all that said, why? Can you (or anyone else) help clarify this for me? Why place the ball on the ground and begin the count? And the reason I ask is because the way I read and interpret the rules, the free thrower is not allowed to be outside of the semicircle until after the release (9-1-3-e), so the moment you place the ball on the floor (at the thrower's disposal), then they are simultaneously violating, and as this is an offensive violation, the ball should immediately become dead. I don't see a provision in the rules that allows the shooter to enter the semicircle and attempt the shot. What am I missing?