View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2018, 05:14pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
There is a little debate about what should be done in a situation that happened a few days ago in a Christmas Tournament.

With the game tied after the regulation horn at 41-41, Team A Head coach was assessed two technical fouls. B1 had blocked a shot and nothing was called.

Team B was awarded 4 FTs but the Team B player hit the first FT and the game was considered over as the score was 42-41.

The question I have was this correctly applied by rule or should they have played the extra period and shot all the FTs regardless of the score after those were completed?

I think the game should be over, but others think they should play the overtime anyway. I do not see a case play that exactly covers this situation. Most situations involve a score not tied and the game being decided by the FTs.

Any good answers?
I'm shocked that you don't know this.
Since the fourth quarter ended with the score tied any technical foul penalties will be assessed to begin the extra period.
The game is not ended with the first FT. All FTs will be attempted and the entire extra period will be played.

There absolutely is a case play which clearly covers this. It is 5.6.2 Situation C, part (a).
Reply With Quote