Can a substitute shoot free throws in a bonus situation?
Last night, team A was in the bonus and committed a foul on a player which Coach B substituted (his substitution had been pending).
The refereee then allowed the entering player to shoot the FTs that were destined for the player that had been fouled. Given that the substitution had not occurred due to injury, Coach A argued that the substituted player needed to shoot the FTs before the substitution could be made.
The referee in question stated that the rules allowed the new player to shoot the FTs. I’ve never seen the rule interpreted this way. Can anyone advise?
|