View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 09, 2017, 08:15am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by cozzmokramer View Post
It was clearly not a frustration or attention slap. The player attempted to block the shot and the referee in question said because the board was hit so hard with the ball on the rim he had no alternative but to issue a technical foul.

I also asked if it mattered if the ball was actually blocked? The response I was given was, that even if the defender actually got part of the ball on the block attempt if the follow thru caused him to hit the backboard while the ball was on the rim its still a technical foul.
The vast majority of HS officials have an understanding of that rule which is different from that of the referee with whom you spoke.
Reply With Quote