Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP
If it is impossible to establish team control by batting the ball to a teammate after a try, why does the NFHS casebook have to explicitly spell out that no team is in control after a try, nor during the period which follows this act while the ball is slapped AWAY from other players in an attempt to secure the ball? Is it because when the ball is batted to a teammate it is a pass and established team control?
According to Rule 9 Section 9 Art 1, no player control is required for a backcourt violation to occur.
You have front court team control (bats to a teammate), A5 is the last to touch in the front court, A1 is the first to touch in the back court.
|
And to have frontcourt team control, there must first have been player control. That is how team control is established.
If team control were established on a bat, we'd have a lot of team control fouls on rebounds as players bat the ball in an attempt to get the rebound. In fact, what if two players bat it? Are both teams in control?