View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2017, 08:33pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
If it is impossible to establish team control by batting the ball to a teammate after a try, why does the NFHS casebook have to explicitly spell out that no team is in control after a try, nor during the period which follows this act while the ball is slapped AWAY from other players in an attempt to secure the ball? Is it because when the ball is batted to a teammate it is a pass and established team control?

According to Rule 9 Section 9 Art 1, no player control is required for a backcourt violation to occur.

You have front court team control (bats to a teammate), A5 is the last to touch in the front court, A1 is the first to touch in the back court.
Reply With Quote