Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP
Rule 4 Section 12
Art 2...A team is in control of the ball:
b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.
Rule 4 Section 31
A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.
So if the "intentional" batting of the ball into the backcourt was to a teammate then this is a backcourt violation.
|
The part your missing is that team control may "continue" while the ball is being passed but it doesn't begin until a player holds or dribbles the ball inbounds. It has to begin by one of those two acts before it becomes a pass....the pass assumes it came from player control.