View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 05, 2017, 09:58pm
josephrt1 josephrt1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Does it change anything if we add a runner at 2nd? In that case the BR would be awarded 1st, but I still don't think this run is meant to score.
I'm not a college ump (do USA) but I think the NCAA rule book answers your question. (I'm looking at the 2015 NCAA book.)

In section 12.19, page 147, one sentence stands out. "If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of the interference, each base runner shall return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch."

In your example of the runner going from 1st to 2nd and after being put out, interferes with the throw to 1st, we have a dead ball. The runner closest to home (runner going from 2nd to 3rd) is now called out for the 3rd out which is not a force out. If the batter-runner had reached 1st before this interference, the run will count. If the batter-runner had NOT reached 1st before this interference then all runners return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch negating the run and putting the runner who crossed home plate back at 3rd base. I read this to mean that even if this was not the 3rd out, the run would still be taken off the board which i don't think anyone was considering (and actually sounds pretty odd).

I think this answers your question. I don't see a similar explanation in the USA book or the 2012 ASA case book, but it would sure help.

Last edited by josephrt1; Sun Nov 05, 2017 at 10:12pm.
Reply With Quote