View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2003, 07:15am
Theisey Theisey is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally posted by rdfox
Our association came up this scenario...

R makes a fair catch on its own 10 yd line with three seconds to go in the first half. It then throws a "Hail Mary" pass which is caught by A80 at the fifty who is immediately tackled. Time has run out.

However, there was roughing the passer back in A's end zone.

Therefore, the penalty will be assessed to B's 35 and A is given an untimed down as a replay...They then have the right to choose a free kick for three points...from a tee...no snap...and no rush from B.

The one question we had as a group was, in explaining the penalty options to A, do we tell them of their right to a free kick? After discussion, we decided "No".
### this is actually an interesting question. While I don't have the exact words in front of me, I believe it says that Team-R has a choice of putting the ball in play by snap or free kick after a fair catch or awarded fair catch.

Do we ever ask them that the first time? Not being a WH, I don't know what he tells them, but it sounds like he should tell them at that point. Agree?

We all know we ask a team where they want the ball spotted for a TRY down because again, the rules say they have a choice of placement.

So with that, I'll go out on a limb and say yes, officials should probably tell the captain (not the coach) of the choice to snap or free kick still exists.
Reply With Quote