View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2017, 07:45pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
What BigCat would have said if he were in a better mood is that “gather” is announcer-speak for “ending the dribble.”
Agree. "Gather", as is it is often used, is often referring to a point that is actually after the end of the dribble. Gather is typically used to describe a ball being secured in both hands or otherwise pulled into the body. But that is not how the end of a dribble is defined at any level. By definition, the dribble ends when the ball comes to rest in ONE or BOTH hands.

So, when a player gets one hand under the ball such that another dribble would be a carry, the dribble has ended and travel rules are in effect at that moment.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote